Liar’s Moon (Thief Errant, #2)

Liar's Moon

Okay… I am seriously behind on reviews.  I have been doing reading – a fair bit of it! – but I have been absolutely TERRIBLE at posting reviews.  So I’m going to attempt to catch up, but my next few posts are going to be very short.  It has been SO LONG since I read some of these books that I don’t recall more than general impressions, plus writing shorter posts will hopefully mean that I get more done!

So, Liar’s Moon by Elizabeth C. Bunce is one of those books I read ages ago, right after I read the first one, Star Crossed (review here).

Digger is back in the city, after witnessing the start of a civil war.

Past connections enmesh Digger, as she is re-acquainted with Lord Durrel Decath in jail.  Accused of killing his wife, Durrel’s fate rests in Digger’s hands. Can she use her skills as a thief, forger, and spy to get to the bottom of the murder?

I was anticipating that the book would focus more on the war, but it seemed to me more of a background event. I was surprised at the turn the book took, actually, and SO FRUSTRATED that it ended on a cliffhanger. UGH!  PLUS I have heard rumours that the third book has not been picked up by a publisher which is AWFUL since I would dearly love to read the conclusion to Digger’s story!!! (Since this was published in 2011 and there is NO THIRD BOOK YET it must be true).

I love that Digger continues to be a strong female character.

I rated the book 4.5 / 5 after finishing it but BEFORE realizing that there may never be a third book (oh cruel world!) so read at your own risk. Sigh!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Fantasy, Young Adult Books

Leave a Reply

