The Cracks in the Kingdom (The Colors of Madeleine #2)

The Cracks In the Kingdom

The Cracks in the Kingdom  by Jaclyn Moriarty is the second book in the Colors of Madeleine series.  I read the first book, A Corner of White, ages ago and I was super excited to find out the second was out.  I’m a little late on the draw – I guess it was released in March.  Better late then never, right?

Elliot Baranski is still determined to find his father – especially now that it seems that Abel was working for the Loyalists and not just running away with the physics teacher. Unfortunately for Elliot, he’s committed to helping Princess Ko find the rest of the royal family.  Ko’s under a strict deadline – she needs the King back in precisely three months to avoid a catastrophic war.  She pulls together the Royal Youth Alliance – which includes Elliot, a boy from Old Quaint, a girl from the Jagged Edge, and her best friend the Stable boy.  Elliot’s value is clear -his contact in the World.

Enter Madeleine, a girl from Cambridge, England who still struggles with her absent father and recovered-but-still-odd mother and finding her place among friends.

Elliot and Madeleine continue their correspondence through the Crack, and must find a way to travel across worlds and rescue the royal family.

Some thoughts:

  • I’m glad I re-read A Corner of White  before delving into this one. It was good to brush up on the events of the first book. I loved it just as much the second time!
  • I love the developing relationship between Elliot and Madeleine.  You’re slowly getting to know each of them more and more. They still have flaws and personality, and are still growing which I just adore. Plus they are still very much teens.
  • This book felt much more about Elliot, and was very much driven by Princess Ko’s need to return her family.
  • There are lots of dips into Newton and random musings about physics and light and such.  I did feel like it tried a little too hard to make sense from a real-world perspective… and I admittedly glossed over those bits.
  • There’s plenty of action and suspense, particularly near the end.
  • You know that feeling when you are SO excited to read a book you can hardly stand it?  I’m feeling that way about getting my hands on the NEXT book! This book ended on a more suspenseful note – curse it!

I’m very happy to have picked this one up!  It was perhaps not AS good as the first, but I still really enjoyed it.

4/5

Leave a comment

Filed under Fantasy, Young Adult Books

Leave a Reply

