Throne of Glass

Throne of Glass

I LOVED Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas.  I had low expectations and will totally admit that I judged the book by its cover before I even cracked it open.  I did not expect it to be an engaging, interesting, and fully engrossing tale until I found myself disappointed that it was already over.  But – BONUS – it’s part of a series!!  The third book is not yet out, but will be later this year – yay!

So the story:  Celaena Sardothien is an assassin sentenced to hard labour in the salt minds of Endovier.  Only 18, she is famous but few know her true age or face.  After a year in the mines, she is brought before the Crown Prince, who offers her a deal: participate as his champion in a competition and, if she wins the title of royal assassin, at the end of her three-year service she will be granted her freedom.

Celaena takes the Prince up on his offer, and before a better opportunity to escape presents itself, she’s part of the competition.  Pitted against the other champions (all men, all hardened criminals – thieves, discgraced soldiers, fellow assassins) Celaena is determined to get back into shape and come out victorious.  She’s helped in her training by the captain of the guard, Westfall, a man she finds interesting and exhilirating.  Between Westfall and Prince Dorian, Celaena has plenty to keep her occupied.  Then other competitors start turning up dead, and Celaena must figure out what is killing them before it’s too late.

This was my reaction immediately after finishing the book:

OMG!!! Assasins!  Champions!  Magic!  Mystery!  A NOT annoying love triangle!!  This was riveting and SO MUCH better than I anticipated!!!

My later reaction is just a warm feeling towards a pleasantly surprising tale.  I would definitely recommend this one.  Celaena is a kick-ass character, and I love that she’s not the ONLY example of a strong female character within the book.  I like how Celaena has some flaws (including an arrogant self-confidence) but that she’s a likeable and strong character.

I appreciate that you come to like both Westfall and Prince Dorian.  I secretly love Westfall better, but that’s just me. I REALLY appreciated that the (obvious) love triangle situation was not awkward, horribly-drawn out or over-referenced.  It was also NOT the main point of the book which is a good thing.

The magic and mystery added much to the plot, and set the stage for later books. Woo hoo!

Love love love!  I am so excited by this one!!

5/5

Leave a comment

Filed under Fantasy, Young Adult Books

Leave a Reply

