Beyond Snapshots

Happy Victoria Day!  Because it’s the long weekend and I am just so excited about this book, you get a bonus post!  It’s definitely off my beaten path.  A non-fiction book? What??

I recently bought a DSLR – by far the fanciest camera I have ever owned.  I’ve always been interested in improving my photography / camera skills, but none of the terms or technical aspects have stuck in my head – until now.  Since purchasing my camera, I’ve taken out a bunch of photography books from the library and found them dry and unhelpful.  Then I stumbled across Beyond Snapshots by Rachel Devin & Peta Mazey (which I was drawn to by the cover) and I felt like a ray of enlightenment illuminated my life.

Beyond Snapshots

I loved this for many reasons, but primarily because it was very readable and it made sense.  Woo hoo!  I actually read through the whole thing (in previous guides I’ve tried, my eyes would glaze over after half a page and I would just flip through looking at the pictures and captions. Heh. Maybe that’s why I didn’t learn much from them).

This felt like a real-life guide, with helpful tips, easy-to-understand explanations and analogies, and lots of stunning pictures that are just the kind I want to be able to take myself.

5/5 for this guide!

Update:  You can also find these two through their website and blog: http://www.beyond-snapshots.com

I promptly called up a friend and we headed over to High Park to practice.  Unfortunately it ended up raining, so our session was cut short by the downpour. It was worth the straggly hair and wet arms (we shared an umbrella which clearly wasn’t big enough for two people haha).  After stopping off for snacks and drinks, the sun came out again!

Here are some unedited snapshots from our walk!

It's finally spring!

It’s finally spring!

I know it's overexposed, but I really like the airy effect

I know it’s overexposed, but I really like the airy effect

I love those reeds in the background!

I love those reeds in the background!

Cherry Blossoms - so pretty!

Cherry Blossoms – so pretty!

Lovely yellow bush

Lovely yellow bush

Lovely stone wall

Lovely stone wall

More cherry blossoms!

More cherry blossoms!

I LOVE David's Tea.  I am so addicted to "Pink Lemonade" - it's my current favourite!

I LOVE David’s Tea. I am so addicted to “Pink Lemonade” – it’s my current favourite!

It's Nancy Drew! You have no idea how excited I was about this sign haha

It’s Nancy Drew! You have no idea how excited I was about this sign haha

I love flowers. Can you tell?

I love flowers. Can you tell?

Trees in the sun

Trees in the sun

Sunny

Sunny

That’s all the patience I have for uploading photos for right now!

I welcome comments/critiques/suggestions for improvement!

Cheers!

Leave a comment

Filed under Photography

Leave a Reply

