I am half-sick of shadows

I am half-sick of Shadows

Alan Bradley is brilliant. Flavia de Luce is an eleven year old budding chemist residing at Buckshaw – an old Manor house in England with her father, Colonel de Luce, her two elder sisters (Ophelia/Feely and Daphne/Daffy), Dogger (a man-of-all-trades on staff) and old Mrs. Mullet (the cook). Flavian is delightful, hilarious, and precocious. I salute Alan Bradley for creating such a believable voice for his narrator and protagonist, Flavia. I like her more and more with every installment in The Buckshaw Chronicles. I Am Half-Sick Of Shadows is the fourth.

This book takes place over Christmas. Buckshaw is being partially rented out by a film crew. The day before Christmas Eve, a bunch of Parishioners come to see a charity show the Vicar has arranged at Buckshaw. Unfortunately a huge storm blows in, and the guests are snowed in. A grisly murder is discovered, and Flavia bounces between planning a trap for Father Christmas and trying to figure out whodunit.

I just love Flavia. She is QUITE the character! I can’t believe it took me so long to get to this book! (I definitely loved the first three).

My only complaint was that it felt really SHORT. I felt like I got to the climax in record time and was almost surprised that it was all being wrapped up so soon!!

4 / 5

Leave a comment

Filed under Historical Fiction, Mystery

Leave a Reply

