The Race

The Race

I love a good action story – and historical fiction to boot!   Clive Cussler and Justin Scott again tell a thrilling turn-of-the-century tale featuring intrepid Isaac Bell, a Van Dorn Detective on yet another case. The Race is just as good as the previous four Isaac Bell novels – full of action and full of descriptions of machines.  This time, it focuses on airplanes!

The Van Dorn Detective Agency has been called in by Preston Whiteway to help protect his candidate in a cross-country airplane race.  Josephine Frost, a farm-girl turned aviator – and America’s Sweetheart of the Air, is pursued by her violent and mean-tempered husband, Harry Frost.  Harry, a large and angry man with a criminal past, is determined to kill Josephine, after she witnesses him shoot her airplane mechanic/inventor/lover.  The race is on – not only between the contestants in Whiteway’s race, but between Bell and Frost.

If you’re looking for an adventure book, I would highly recommend this one!  Be warned: there are lots of descriptions of engines (which I sort of gloss over).   There’s lots of criminal sabotage, shooting, and bad guys doing bad things.  There’s also lots of intrepid investigators trying hard to defeat the bad guys along every step of the way.  I find Isaac a moral, likeable character.  I love Marian Morgan!  If Isaac’s derring-do is a little less than realistic, who cares? It’s an adventure novel!

5/5 for it’s class!

(Incidentally, I really enjoyed The Chase, The Wrecker, and The Spy , which are the preceding Isaac Bell novels.  I listened to them in audiobook format, and loved the narration!  Well worth the audiobooks!  I can’t wait to read the rest of the books in this series.  I found that his Dirk Pitt Adventures were getting a bit stale, but between Isaac Bell and the Fargo Adventures, I’m still hooked on Clive Cussler.  I tip my hat to my Dad, who got me hooked!)

Leave a comment

Filed under Action, Adult Fiction, Historical Fiction

Leave a Reply

