Top Ten Tuesday – August 20: Top Ten Things That Make Your Life As A Reader/Book Blogger Easier (maybe it’s Goodreads or your library or different resourcers etc. etc.)

Top Ten Tuesdays balloons cut outs logo

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish over HERE.  Because they like lists.  I do too!  This week, it’s the Top Ten Things That Make Your Life As A Reader/Book Blogger Easier (maybe it’s Goodreads or your library or different resourcers etc. etc.).  I’m going to get to the top FIVE.

1. Goodreads.  I definitely check most if not all of the books I read for what Goodreads users rate them as, before trying them out myself. www.goodreads.com 

2. My Public Library.  I definitely get MOST of my books from the library – mostly downloads / e-books and some paper books. (There’s not a super convenient branch, so when I want a paper book I tend to buy it, borrow from a friend, or wait to put a bunch on hold at once). 

3. Other Bloggers / Commenters – it’s nice to get comments / feedback and also see what other people are reading and whether or not I want to pick those books up too!

4. Time to Read. I have a shorter commute (only half an hour!) and I’ve taken a break with some of my after-work activities during the summer, which gives me more time to read.  Unfortunately, I drive to and from work and there is NO time in my busy day to read on a break, but I do occasionally snatch an afternoon or lazy sunday where I get to read all day.

5. My husbandHe’s instrumental in helping me find time for reading or blogging – and catering to my book addiction.  I also sometime bounce things off of him, and have used him as a test subject for books I think I’ll find difficult.

What helps you?

1 Comment

Filed under Lists

One response to “Top Ten Tuesday – August 20: Top Ten Things That Make Your Life As A Reader/Book Blogger Easier (maybe it’s Goodreads or your library or different resourcers etc. etc.)

  1. I try to save myself at least an hour or two before I go to bed to read each night. It’s a wonderful way to calm down my day. If I don’t have it, I go crazy. I actually try to avoid reviews on GR. They are always a hit and miss. While some think the book is wonderful, I get disappointed when I don’t like it. The library is definitely a great place to to get motivated to read, and I find that when I’m in the library it inspires me in a lot of ways. Not just with reading but writing as well.

Leave a Reply

