Sisters Red

Sisters Red

Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce is sort of a Little Red Riding Hood Adaptation – but I find it pretty faintly related.  There are the sisters.  They wear red hoods.  There are wolves.  There is a Grandma.

Scarlett and Rosie, the sisters, are Hunters of Wolves.  The Fenris (werewolves) are evil, soulless creatures who lure and kill innocent young girls.  After losing Oma March and an eye to a Fenris while protecting her younger sister, Scarlett has made it her life’s mission to hunt and kill every Fenris she can.  Rosie also hunts – though more out of obligation to Scarlett than enjoyment.  The two are aided by Silas, a young woodsman.  For Rosie and Silas, hunting isn’t everything, a fact that Scarlett cannot comprehend or accept.

The Hunt is on – and time is running out.

I am not sure if I liked this book or not. I read it aloud with my two sisters.  We took turns reading the Scarlett / Rosie chapters, and reached the consensus that it wasn’t our kind of book.

I didn’t like Scarlett.  She was too single-minded and obsessed, dwelling on either the Fenris or on her own scars.  For Scarlett, the world was completely black and white – good vs. Fenris – and it got old pretty quick.  I mostly liked Rosie (except for her moments of self-hatred).  She was at least a little more rounded, and experienced some character development.  I did like Silas, who provided a nice balance against both girls.

The fight scenes were exciting, and I was glad there was a little bit of a love story, although all in all, it was a pretty gory and DARK of book.

I thought the ending – while not toe-curlingly satisfying, was right.

Update: I will give this one a 2.5/5.

1 Comment

Filed under Fantasy

One response to “Sisters Red

  1. notacatalyst

    I had been meaning to pick this book up because I’ve read Jackson Pearce’s “As You Wish” and enjoyed it. But yeah, wasn’t sure if this would be my cup of tea or not.

Leave a Reply

