June 4: Top Ten Books Featuring Travel In Some Way (road trips, airplanes, travelogues, anything where there is traveling in the book!)

Top Ten Tuesdays balloons cut outs logo

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

June 4: Top Ten Books Featuring Travel In Some Way (road trips, airplanes, travelogues, anything where there is traveling in the book!)

Hmmm…. I feel Like I might be getting some repeats of books I’ve mentioned in other Top Ten Tuesday Posts, because the first thing that comes to mind is:

1. Bloomability by Sharon Creech.  This book made me want to travel – specifically to Switzerland.  I did end up going there years later, and found it impressive but the mountains were less captivating to me personally than my beloved Rockies here in Canada. Go figure.

Bloomability

 

2. The Bean Trees  by Barbara Kingsolver.  I really disliked The Poisonwood Bible, but LOVED The Bean Trees, so I’ve never picked up another book by Barbara given that I hated 50% of what I’ve tried.

The Bean Trees

3. Every Boy’s Got One by Meg Cabot.  This one is written via a series of emails, notes, etc., and thus not in a typical continuous narrative.  An enjoyable fluffy romance!

Every Boy's Got One

 

4. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien.  As much as LOTR is great, I’ve always loved the Hobbit better.  I guess, given that it’s more of a children’s adventure tale, that is unsurprising given my other reading preferences!

The Hobbit

 

5. The Chase (Isaac Bell #1) by Clive Cussler.  I do love a good action book now and again, and I really enjoyed the historical fiction aspect to this one.  Fast-paced and exciting, with a fresh new character (as opposed to some of his other series which are getting old).

The Chase

6. Heidi by Johanna Spyri.  This is one of my childhood favourites!

Heidi

7. Journey to the Centre Of the Earth by Jules Verne.   A classic.  You could probably say any of his books would fit the travel theme well!

Journey to the centre of the Earth

 

8. Blood Red Road by Moria Young.  (See my post on it here.  As much as I was disappointed in the sequel, I did still like the first).

Blood Red Road

 

9. Life of Pi by Yann Martel.  Its been a while since I read this, but I really enjoyed it.

Life of Pi

10. Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld.  Steampunky, on the fringes of WWI, with a giant floating whale/airship? It’s great!

Levaiathan

 

I realized making this list, that a great many of the books I read have travel in them, but not necessarily via modern conveniences like cars or planes.  Travel on foot, by horseback, or by other unconventional means (giant floating whale?) still counts! Most of the books that come to mind have Travel as a necessary component of  Adventure … I guess that’s telling that I like fantasy/adventure/action type books!

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Lists

Leave a Reply

