Stardust

Stardust

I find it very VERY rare that I like a movie more than I like a book.  In fact, the only occasion that comes to mind was “The Tenth Kingdom” – a 10 hour movie that I LOVED.  Unfortunately, I did not enjoy the book at all, finding it a dry play-by-play of everything that happened, without the added benefit of descriptions and imagination.

Stardust had the same problem for me – I liked the movie more than the book.  I did watch the movie first, multiple times, which may have influenced my decision.  I also loved the writing style and descriptions in the book.  The movie and book deviate significantly on several plot points, and I have to concede that the movie is much more exciting.  I do find myself rooting for dramatic professions of love, daring escapes, secretly gay Pirates, fighting with bad evil witches, and reunited love.  Also, happy endings.  The book got off to a fine start but then… sort of petered out.   It fell flat.  Not with a bang but with a whisper.  Sigh.  Plus Yvaine is bad-tempered but not all that plucky in the book.

The ending in the book left much to be desired, particularly in comparison.  This is reportedly Faerie after all, shouldn’t MAGIC happen? Not just bad magic with the witches, but good happy ending magic?  I hate endings that leave on a sad-ish note.  My husband informs me that “dark” is to be expected from Neil Gaiman, which makes me far less likely to read his American Gods (which my husband highly recommends).

I’ll give the book a 3 / 5.  Decent effort, but not necessarily something I’ll return to.  I’m going out to buy the movie right now to dwell in better endings and excitement!

2 Comments

Filed under Fantasy

2 responses to “Stardust

  1. It’s kind of anathema to say this since I’m a huge fan of Fantasy novels, but I really don’t see why everyone loves Gaiman so much.

    I’ve read Stardust, The Graveyard Book, American Gods, Anansi Boys, and Good Omens (the book he wrote with Terry Pratchett, who I also don’t care for). I think that he has some very interesting ideas in his books, but ultimately I think his writing just falls flat.

    I thought that the best parts of American Gods were short interludes that he had in between the larger overall story. I think it would be interesting to read some short fiction from Gaiman, but I wouldn’t really recommend any of his novels to people, especially if you’ve read one of them already and didn’t really care for it.

  2. I completely agree and I gave it exactly the same rating! I was so disappointed.

Leave a Reply

