Soulless

Print

The old saying goes: Don’t Judge a Book by It’s Cover.  And yet I do, undoubtedly, and then regret it.  I saw this book on the shelf at my local bookstore ages ago, and was intrigued but just hated the cover.  I didn’t pick it up then, but stumbled across the ebook the other day and decided to give it a shot.  (An upside of the kobo – I don’t have to look at covers if I don’t want to haha!).

This was SO GOOD.  I actually LOVED it.

Against a backdrop of Victorian London, the book follows the story of Alexia Tarabotti.  Alexia is a preternatural, meaning she has no soul. Though her Soulless state is central to the story, and weird to think of, it doesn’t seem to affect her morals, learning, or personality in any way.  Basically, when Alexia touches a vampire or werewolf, they revert (temporarily) back to their human state.  An interesting phenomenon, which has put her into contact with the Bureau of Unnatural Registry (BUR), a division of Her Majesty’s Civil Service.  In the opening scene, Alexia accidentally kills a vampire, which brings her into contact with the gorgeous Lord Maccon, werewolf and head of the BUR.  Someone or something is upsetting the supernatural world, and Alexia finds herself embroiled in the investigation.  Finding herself an unexpected target, she must dig for information, navigate London’s high society, and negotiate relations with Lord Maccon.

The highlights:

  • Victorian era
  • Steampunk without being obsessed with gadgets
  • STRONG female Character (smart, interesting, well-read, and not afraid to voice her own mind)
  • Funny
  • Healthy dose of romance (my favourite, where the characters initially seem to dislike each other but come to realize they are so perfect for one another)
  • Deals with the supernatural in a fun way (Vampires and Werewolves are not necessarily my thing, but I loved the portrayal in this book!)
  • Just enough of a plot to keep you sort of guessing, but not too anxious
  • A fantastic ending
  • It’s the first of a series!

I can’t wait to read the rest of the series!

I enjoyed this one so much, I’m giving it a 5 / 5!

(UPDATE: I changed the classification from “Young Adult” to “Adult”, which I think suits this book / this series better)

9 Comments

Filed under Adult Fiction, Historical Fiction, Steampunk

9 responses to “Soulless

  1. I loved this series as well. I haven’t read her latest series yet, but will pick them up eventually. Gail Carriger is an excellent writer.

  2. theskepticalreader

    I’m really excited to read this series, lately I’ve been seeing it everywhere with full stars! 🙂

  3. rqpanda

    This series was awesome. Her quirky and strong characters really made the books a fun read! So sad it’s over 😦

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: July 16: Top Ten Authors Who Deserve More Recognition | Books for the Young at Heart

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: August 13 – Top Ten Favourite books with [an alternate history] Setting | Books for the Young at Heart

  6. Pingback: Blameless | Books for the Young at Heart

  7. Pingback: Heartless | Books for the Young at Heart

  8. Pingback: Timeless | Books for the Young at Heart

  9. Pingback: The Immortal Empire #1 -3 by Kate Locke | Books for the Young at Heart

Leave a Reply

