Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Words/Topics That Instantly Make Me Buy/Pick Up A Book

Top Ten Tuesdays balloons cut outs logo

Welcome again to another installment of Top Ten Tuesdays, meme courtesy of the lovely Ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish.  This week’s theme is the Top Ten Words/Topics That Instantly Make Me Buy/Pick Up A Book (thanks to Karin at My Life In Books for this topic & graciously letting us use it).

1. Books that are Fairy Tale Adaptations – I am a sucker for fairy tales.  I love adaptations of familiar stories – how will they dress it up this time?  What will be tweaked to make it fit?  What will be kept?  Love them.  My favourites are Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Beauty and the Beast, Donkey Skin, Snow White, and anything that sounds like it has fairy godmothers or classic storylines.

2. I also like to read historical fiction – I probably most appreciate old-timey England (from probably the 1700s to Victorian-era, times circa WWI, and the French Revolution days.  But I often am intrigued by a book that promises new insights into times gone by.  This does come with a caveat, because I do NOT like all historical fiction and so it really depends on the book.

3. Strong Female Characters are obviously a big draw – and a theme I like to return to.

4. Magic is also a theme that pulls me in on a consistent basis.  I like witchcraft, ambient magic, fairy godmothers and that sort of thing.  Special powers.

5. Dragons do too.

6. I am newly into dystopian fiction – it’s not a sure bet, but it’s definitely enough to make me seriously consider picking it up.

7. The promise of a love story – though I generally don’t love pure romance books, if it sounds like it will be witty, interesting, and turn out happy in the end, I am apt to pick it up.

8. Steampunk, like dystopian fiction, is also a buzzword that I’ve caught onto these days.

9. I am also a fan of a little adventure now and again – I like the fast-paced, pure action book (read: Clive Cussler, Dan Brown style books) and although I don’t always dive in, I’m certain to at least pick it up and consider it.  (These I do tend to stick to tried-and-true authors, and have a harder time branching out into the unknown as you never really are guaranteed of a good ending). 

10. A spark of a mystery to be solved, with a witty female lead who will sort through the muddle and make sure the bad guys get their comeuppance.   I like the lighter mysteries, where they don’t border on thriller territory and they don’t dwell on terrible deeds and gory scenes.  The quirky, unexpected or somewhat un-offical investigator is the best kind.

Bonus – Words/themes that turn me OFF of a book include:  vampires/werewolves, themes of dying/tragedy/sadness, and books that hint of a passive or insipid or pathetic main female character.  I’m also not big on non-fiction.

What kinds of key words or themes do you look for in a book?

Leave a comment

Filed under Lists

Leave a Reply

