Plugged

And now for something completely different… Plugged by Eoin Colfer.  I was intrigued by this last Christmas when I saw it in the bookstore but haven’t had a chance to read it until now. Eoin won me over with The Artemis Fowl series and Airman, so I went in with high expectations. 

Plugged

I will admit, I like a good action / mystery story now and again.  I tend to favour the light, somewhat silly ones (e.g. Janet Evanovich’s By the Numbers series) and this one mostly fits that bill.  It wasn’t too much thinking or deep introspection or unveiling of the dark side of man.  Daniel McCoy is an ex-army Irish doorman for a sleezy club in Jersey.  Things get complicated and Daniel finds himself up to his elbows in murder, corrupt cops, and mobsters.  He must use his soldier instincts to get himself, and a friend or two, out of some sticky situations and to figure out who murdered his favourite hostess and best friend, Zeb.  All while mildly obsessing over aging / baldness and his new hair plugs.

I appreciated that the plot moved quickly, that there were enough twists to keep me guessing (though admittedly, I never try very hard to figure out whodunnit), and that humour was interspersed.  You like Daniel enough that you can root for him, and despite some questionable acts, you appreciate that his morals seem to be mostly in the right place.

He also talks to himself (or rather to “Ghost Zeb”), and that little bit of crazy made him a much more interesting guy.

I also liked that it wasn’t too graphic  or detailed, although being an action/mystery type book you have to expect some blood and gore.   It’s dealt with in a matter-of-fact kind of way and doesn’t glory over the blood-and-guts.  It’s an Indiana-Jones type of violence level.  (I do love me some Indiana).

A quick, interesting read if you’re looking for a little action and a tough-guy vs. bad guys tale.  The slight stab at romance is short-lived and not all that romantic, which is a little disappointing (for someone who loves a good love story in any kind of book).  Better luck next time, I guess.  I’d give this one a 4 / 5.

2 Comments

Filed under Adult Fiction

2 responses to “Plugged

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: July 16: Top Ten Authors Who Deserve More Recognition | Books for the Young at Heart

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesdays – August 6: Top Ten Books I Wish Could Have Had Sequels | Books for the Young at Heart

Leave a Reply

