Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Thought I’d Like MORE/LESS Than I Did

Top Ten Tuesdays rough draft turquoise logo

It’s Tuesday again!  Another edition of Top Ten Tuesdays, from The Broke and The Bookish.  This week is the Top Ten Books I Thought I’d Like MORE/LESS Than I Did.

1. A Great and Terrible Beauty (and the rest of the Gemma Doyle series) by Libba Bray.  I really wanted to like these books – so much so that I finished the series hoping that they would just get better.  Alas, they got worse.  Gemma Doyle, the main character, annoyed me to no end.  She just seemed headstrong, foolish, and too proud for her own good. I was not satisfied with the ending of the series, which I found odd because as an advocate of strong female characters I felt like I should like the ending.  I thought these books would be fantastic and I was definitely disappointed.

A great and Terrible Beauty

2. The Alchemyst (The Secrets of The Immortal Nicholas Flamel) (and the Rest of that series by Michael Scott.  Another flop – I persevered and got to about halfway through The Warlock (#5) before giving up hope.  I felt like the series started out with a bang and just went downhill from there.  I liked Sophie and Josh initially, but I rapidly lost those warm fuzzy feelings.  Josh in particular went from being likeable to annoying within a pretty short span of time.

The Achemyst

3. Rebel Heartby Moria Young (see my review here)

rebel heart

4. The Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Orczy – I expected to hate this book (just because my dad recommended it) and I LOVED it (plus it has remained one of my constant favourites).

The scarlet pimpernel

5. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams – I actually loved the movie with Martin Freeman.  Normally I like books better than movies, but I actually couldn’t really get into the written version (and still haven’t finished the series).

Hitchhikers guide to the galaxy

6. The Lord of the Rings (the first time I read it) by J.R.R. Tolkien – The very first time I picked up Lord of the Rings, I had just finished the Hobbit, which I loved.  I HATED the trilogy and was very annoyed at my mom for suggesting that they were great books.  I couldn’t see how something so wordy and dark could be good.  Luckily for me, Peter Jackson decided to make the films, and after watching those I re-read the trilogy and really enjoyed it.  Having a huge crush on movie-Legolas may have helped.

LoTR

7. The Amber Spyglass by Philip Pullman – I loved The Golden Compass so much, and was mildly disappointed by The Subtle Knife but I was HUGELY disappointed by The Amber Spyglass.  I was so upset by the ending I don’t think I’ve ever re-read the series, which is funny as I think at one point I had two copies.

the Amber Spyglass

8. Fortune’s Fool (the first book I ever picked up by Mercedes Lackey) – I have no idea why, but I had some weird hesitance to read Mercedes Lackey books, even though they’d been recommended to me by more than one person.  I decided one day to try them out, and rented a random book by her from the library.  I think the colour of the book spine decided me lol.  Although I felt like I shouldn’t have been surprised by how good they were, I was indeed surprised and proceeded to read all of the 500 Kingdoms Series and all of the Elemental Masters Series.  I haven’t gotten beyond those two, as I’m a little bit intimidated by all the books Mercedes has written.  Plus the other ones shout “fantasy” more strongly and although I like fantasy, I still haven’t picked them up.  Someday soon!!

Fortune's Fool

9. Inkheart (and the series) by Cornelia Funke – I don’t know why, but I always expect to like these books a little more than I actually do.  I love the idea of the story, I’m not sure if Its the writing style or some of the characters that I dont like.  I do like them enough to own them, but something is just a little off for me.

Inkheart

10. Ever by Gail Carson Levine –  I was so excited for this book when it was released.  “Excellent!” I thought, “Another princess story!”  Perhaps part of my disappointment was based in my unfounded expectation that the book would be based on a tale that I recognized.  I never really “got into” this one – I felt like a skipping rock, skimming the surface but strangely never sinking in.

Ever

It’s too bad that most of these books were disappointments rather than hidden gems!

1 Comment

Filed under Lists

One response to “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Thought I’d Like MORE/LESS Than I Did

  1. Yay for The Hobbit and LOTR! I am with you on Amber Spyglass. It wasn’t the best ending to this series. 🙂

Leave a Reply

