Top Ten Tuesday: Rewind to Top Ten Books I had VERY Strong Emotions About

Top Ten Tuesdays bleeding hearts green logo

Welcome back to another Top Ten Tuesday courtesy of the lovely ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish.  This week’s theme is a Top Ten Tuesday REWIND — pick a past topic you missed or one you want to revisit!

I have decided to try Top Ten Books I Had VERY Strong Emotions About.  A caveat – I tend to have strong emotions about most books I read, as I’m apparently a pretty emotional person.  I’m the crazy lady crying over my book.  For this reason, I try not to read certain books in public places as no one needs to see my weepy, blotched face.

ANYWAY, on to the list!  I’m going to do half an half – the good and the bad.

The good: 

1. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling.  – Of course I love the Harry Potter books, and this being the last it holds all the history of getting to know the characters, holding them dear to your heart, and seeing them face a terrible force of darkness.  Every time I re-read it, I get more new details, since by the climax I’m usually crying so hard I can barely see the pages (and yet I read on).

HP and the Deathly Hallows

2. Lirael by Garth Nix – I stumbled upon this book when I was in the midst of my teen-agnst years.  I would read and re-read it and cry buckets over the beginning when Lirael felt the most lonely and different.  I was a bit of a nerdy kid and never really felt like I belonged so this book spoke to my very soul.  I still love it for the balm it provided my younger self.  Also it’s a great read.

Lirael

3. Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Seth Grahame-Smith / Jane Austen.  I think this is a hilarious adaptation of one of my favourite books.

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

4. Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls – This one made the list partially in memory of my Nana, who first gave this to me, partially because it’s a fantastic book, and partially because the end is SO SAD I almost cannot stand it.  Its not a book that I can re-read, because it still destroys me, but it is a very exciting tale of love and adventure!

Where the Red Fern Grows

5.  The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank – This one touched me deeply.  I identified so much with Anne when I first read this, and my heart aches for her situation.

The diary of Anne Frank

Okay, on to The Bad:

1. The Twilight Saga by Stephenie Meyer.  – I will admit to having read the entire series, mostly because I wanted to see what all the hype was about.  I am VERY passionately opposed to these books and am DISGUSTED that they are so popular.  Bella is just about the stupidest simpering “I need a man to rescue me” kind of girl there is.  I hate the love triangle.  I hate the weird relationship between Bella and Edward (hello stalker much?!).  I hate that Bella basically decided that she “can’t live” without Edward (Eclipse) and starts doing all sorts of stupid stuff.  I hate that it sends the message that girls need a boyfriend / a man to take care of them. I HATED these books, and I feel like I can say that fairly because I did actually read them all.  There was much cringing and head-smacking and almost-throwing-the-books when I was reading them.

I hate them so much, I considered not even putting in a picture. But I will, just so you know that yes it is those books I’m talking about. Hiss.

twilight

2. Bridge to Teribithida by Katherine Paterson – I had to read this book for school, and think it is wonderful, but it’s on the “bad” list because I just could NOT handle the ending.  It destroyed me – I had no warning and no preparation.  This may seem hypocritical, since Where the Red Fern Grows had a similarly devastating effect on my emotions, but at least with the Fern I had warning (thanks Nana!) that it was going to be sad.

I might actually credit this book for my hesitancy to read anything new / anything sad.

Bridge to Terabithia

3. Hatchet by Gary Paulsen – This was another book I had to read for school, and got me suspecting that the theme of the English Curriculum (or “Language Arts” as it was called in Elementary school & Junior High) was depressing.  I’m not into survival books, and I remembering hating this book passionately.  I had a hard time deciding if I should put Hatchet or The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton on this list, as I felt pretty similarly about both books.  I don’t really even remember why – probably it was outside of my “books are for reading happy stories” schema.

Hatchet

4. Go Ask Alice by Anonymous / Beatrice Sparks – This was another book that I read for school.  I liked it, up until the epilogue, which ruined the whole thing for me and made me cry for days. It was at this point that I definitely decided that school made us read sad books.  This theory was further confirmed by all the other books I read for class – cumulating in the “Heart of Darkness” which I then felt was the point of the whole English Curriculum.

Go ask Alice

5. Confessions of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella – I really wanted to like this book when I picked it up.  Fun cover, flying off the shelves at the bookstore where I worked, why not?  I couldn’t even make it half-way through the book before throwing it down in disgust.  Becky was a character I did not like and could not like.  Her irresponsible lifestyle caused me way more anxiety than a book should, and thus I put it in the “terrible, never read again” category and still shudder when I think of it.

Confessions of a Shopaholic

Phew.  Glad that’s done.   I don’t like re-living the memories of the “bad” list books.

Do you have any books that you feel very strongly about – positively or negatively?

2 Comments

Filed under Lists

2 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Rewind to Top Ten Books I had VERY Strong Emotions About

  1. I totally forgot about Where the Red Fern Grows! We read it as a class in Grade 6. I remember crying at the end too, while I was in class, but I’m pretty sure some other girls did, too.
    I really enjoyed Hatchet, enough to buy and read the sequel, Brian’s Winter. I really liked survival books, and read several books by Terry Pratchett in junior high – they were some of the first books written from the point of view of a teenage boy that I identified with and chose on my own to read.

    One book that I read as an adult that I felt very strongly about was Fall on Your Knees, by Anne-Marie McDonald (which was a finalist in Canada Reads a few years ago – do you follow Canada Reads?). It was one of those large tomes with a multi-generational storyline, which I really like, such as the Color Purple or the Poisonwood Bible. There were several moments in Fall on Your Knees where I kept thinking for long after, “if only! If only!” It doesn’t have a happy ending for any of the main characters, really, but it’s so rich a vignette of a family at the turn of the century that it has stayed in my mind for years since I read it.
    Her other major novel, The Way the Crow Flies, was heart-wrenching as well, and nostalgic for me in the beginning of the book as the story takes place on a military base, but it gets depressing and sickening fast, and despite a happy-ish ending, I can’t get over all the bad stuff in the middle.

    • liabanana

      I’m glad you enjoyed Hatchet – I was so grossed out by the descriptions of the fish eating … things… that I couldn’t get over it.
      I still haven’t gotten into Terry Pratchett – I keep thinking I should give them another try.

      I probably WONT try Fall on Your Knees … I need Happy Endings so bad! Similar to The Way the Crow Flies… too much sadness.
      🙂

Leave a Reply

