Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary “Jacky” Faber, Ship’s Boy

Today I finished Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary “Jacky” Faber by L.A. Meyer.  I had high expectations after reading the Goodreads Synopsis, and I’m sad to say that I was a little disappointed.

Bloody Jack

Unusually, it took me a while to get into Bloody Jack.  I don’t know if I just wasn’t in the mood, or if it was the writing style, but I read this one over three days.  It was a “pick up, read a few chapters, and put down” kind of book.  It just wasn’t gripping enough for me to keep on reading in larger chunks, and I felt the story moved slowly.

Mary “Jacky” Faber is an orphaned London street urchin who decides to take fate into her own hands and go to sea.  She disguises herself as a boy and gets hired on as a ship’s boy.  Aboard the Dolphin, Jacky must continue The Deception, avoiding discovery and some unsavory fellow sailors while learning the ropes.  She earns the moniker “bloody Jack” much to her dismay, as the Dolphin seeks out Pirates and their booty.

In some ways I admire Jacky, for taking the initiative.  There is a little too much mooning over a fellow ship’s boy and a little too much blubbering for me to really call her a strong strong female character.  Jacky is smart, matter-of-fact, and mostly practical, which I admire.  She’s also a bit naive.

The book ended very abruptly which annoyed me.  I guess that makes room for the many sequels (which I’m not sure if I’ll try).

I would rate this one 3 out of 5.  A decent enough read and good for light entertainment (but not necessarily for a good swashbuckling high-seas pirate adventure).

Leave a comment

Filed under Young Adult Books

Leave a Reply

