Top Ten Tuesday: Childhood Favourites

Top Ten Tuesdays animals purple logo

It’s time for another Top Ten, idea/meme courtesy of The Broke and The Bookish!  This week’s theme is the Top Ten Favorite Books I Read Before I Was A Blogger.  This presents somewhat of a problem since I only started blogging recently, and all of my favourite books were read before I was a blogger. In fact, if you look at my Top Ten Books I Recommend the Most post, it would be the same as this list.

Instead, I am going to revisit an old topic and list my Top Ten Childhood Favourites.  This fits, as I did definitely read these before I was a blogger – before blogs were even a thing haha.  I shall take childhood to mean young child to tween / middle school.

 

Toes In My Nose and Other Poems by Sheree Fitch

toesinnose

Fox in Socks by Dr. Seuss

Fox in Socks

The Napping House by Audrey Wood

The Napping House

The Paperbag Princess  by Robert Munsch.  I pretty much loved (and still love) all Munsch books.

Paperbag princess

Red is Best by Kathy Stinson  (even though I disagreed and thought Pink was better).

Red is Best

The Borrowers by Mary Norton

THe borrowers

The Baby-sitters Little Sister and The Baby-sitters Club books by Ann M. Martin.  I have to put these in because they were the reason I started reading “Chapter Books”.  My favourite baby-sitter, Lindsay, gave me a bunch of old Baby-sitters Little Sister books, and since I idolized Lindsay I read them all and discovered that I quite liked reading.  It began a new era for me – and by Grade Six I was known as the kid who read Baby-Sitters Club.

The Baby sitters club

Nancy Drew books by Carolyn Keene. Similar to the Baby-Sitters Club, I loved the ability to read a series.  I particularly liked the Nancy Drew & Hardy Boys mashup novels!

Nancy Drew

Cherry Ames Student Nurse by Helen Wells.  I remember Cherry with fondness, though I never actually owned any of the books.  My best friend at the time had a few of the Cherry Ames books that I borrowed.  I loved them, and still remember them fondly enough that they made the list.  I believe they are out of print – and apparently were at the time I discovered them, much to my disappointment.

Cherry Ames

Julie and Christy by Catherine Marshall.  I list these together because I think I always read them together, although they are separate, stand-alone books.  I loved these because my Nana gave them to me and she loved them, but also because they had strong, admirable female leads.

JulieChristy

Bonus:  Matilda, The BFG and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory  by Roald Dahl were also childhood favourites, but I couldn’t bump any of the above from the list.

Matilda       The BFG      charlie_and_the_chocolate_factory_book_cover.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under Lists

Leave a Reply

