Beastly: Lindy’s Diary

If you know me, then you know that I love re-reading books.  Maybe that’s why I like fairy tales so much – I can predict what is going to happen.  So it shouldn’t be a surprise that as soon as I finished Beastly by Alex Flinn, I started Beastly: Lindy’s Diary which is exactly the same story just written from Lindy’s perspective instead of the Beast/Kyle/Adrian’s.

Beastly Lindy's Diary

I don’t think I can separate the two books in my mind – this is a natural companion to the other and I liked it just as much.  I’m glad, though, that I read Beastly first, because its definitely more in-depth.  Beastly: Lindy’s Diary is a quick companion that I’m not sure would stand up as well as it’s own book.

I liked Lindy a lot in Beastly and also in this book – she’s a mostly strong female character who, though she expresses some real self-doubts, is smart, gutsy, and realistic.

In the context of the two together, I would still rate this one a 4 / 5.  I Love re-tellings!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Young Adult Books

Leave a Reply

