Dragon Flight and Dragon Spear

Somewhat belatedly, I thought I should mention that I DID get a chance to read Dragon Flight AND Dragon Spear, the sequels to Dragon Slippers by Jessica Day George.  I forgot to post on them because … well I have no reason.  So this somewhat breaks my rule of only-reviewing-very-recently-read books a little, since I read them several books ago, but that’s life I guess.

I won’t say much, other than my expectations were MET for both books.

Image

To quote from Goodreads:

With the Dragon Wars over, Creel finds herself bored with life as a seamstress. Then word comes that a bordering country has been breeding dragons in preparation for an invasion. Never one to sit around, Creel throws herself headlong into an adventure that will reunite her with her dragon friend Shardas, pit her against a vicious new enemy and perhaps rekindle a friendship with Prince Luka that seems to have gone cold. Funny, heart-felt, and action packed, this is a sequel that will satisfy on every level.

I agree that it’s an action-packed, heart-warming book!   Creel is just as much of a Strong Female Character as she was previously, which I appreciated.

My rating:  4 / 5

Image

Again, to quote from Goodreads  (oh no! I get lazy quickly):

As far as Creel is concerned, all is finally right with the world. The dragon king, Shardas, and his queen, Velika, have made a home for themselves on the Far Islands, and for the first time in centuries it seems dragons and humans might be able to live together in peace. So what better time for Creel and Luka to plan their wedding. But then Velika gets kidnapped by a band of rogue dragons in need of their own queen. And Creel and Luka leap to aid Shardas and rescue her—only to discover that Luka’s father has set his sights on taking back the Far Islands from the dragons. Torn between her love for Prince Luka and her friendship with Shardas and Velika, Creel must make the most difficult decision of her life if she stands any chance of getting to the church on time.

I enjoyed this book just as much as the previous two, although I thought it took a bit of a different vein.  Still strong female characters, but this time the “villains” were less despicable and more … pitiable I guess.  I disagree with the last HALF of this Goodreads quote (see underlined) because I don’t think it’s an adequate description.  Luka’s father doesn’t really have much of anything to do with anything, it’s like a minor concern that is mentioned at the very very end.  And I don’t think Creel had to make the “most difficult decision of her life” – really, any decisions she did make were NOT that hard. (Or so it seemed to me).  Aside from my disagreements with Goodreads, I did really like this book!

My rating = 4 / 5.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fantasy, Young Adult Books

Leave a Reply

