Dragon Slippers

Dragon Slippers

It fills my heart with glee to have found this – I can’t WAIT to read the rest of the series and of the books by Jessica Day George!!  Thank-you Goodreads!!

When it comes to books, some of my favourite things are:  Dragons, Princesses, Wit, Strong Female Characters, and a good Plot.  This book captures them all and I am sure I’ve found a new favourite to cherish and re-read a million times!!

The book reminded me of Patricia C. Wrede’s books (Dealing with Dragons, Calling on Dragons, Searching for Dragons, and Talking to Dragons), and of Gail Carson Levine’s style (i.e. Ella Enchanted) – a strong recommendation in it’s favour.

Creel, an intrepid young girl, is set to be sacrificed to the local dragon by her enterprising Aunt (in an attempt to secure a good place/marriage by the whole damsel-in-distress thing).  Instead of being eaten or rescued, Creel bargains her way out of the Dragon’s cave and emerges with a peculiar pair of slippers.  She sets off to the find work in the main city, with basically some thread and the embroidery skills she’s learned from her mother.  She meets a few more dragons, some good friends, and a friendly prince and ultimately must help save the kingdom.

I give this book a 4/5 (although I might rate it higher after a few re-readings haha – I feel like it’s the kind of book that will grow on me).

I’m thrilled to see what else Jessica Day George has in store!  Unfortunately, only the dragon slippers series seems to be available in e-book format through my local library.  I might actually have to seek out the nearest branch (which I haven’t done since we moved because I’ve had my handy kobo and the library website) and put a hold on some of her other books.

Cheers!

Leave a comment

Filed under Tween Fiction

Leave a Reply

