Unspoken

unspoken

I am quite sorry that I just finished this book because now I HAVE TO WAIT FOR THE SEQUEL!  I loved Unspoken, by Sarah Rees Brennan, which I picked up completely on a whim, having felt drawn to the cover.

Unspoken follows Kami Glass, a quirky teenage girl with a passion for investigative journalism and throwing herself at life.  Kami’s quirkiness includes an imaginary friend, Jared – this boy who she talks to in her head. She lives in a sleepy little town in England called Sorry-in-the-Vale, where there are secrets passed down through generations.  The town has always been presided over by the Lynburns, an aloof family who live in the Manor on the hill. They’ve been away and have recently returned, and everything changes when the Lynburns return.  Kami must come to terms with her suddenly-not-so-imaginary-and-now-quite-real-friend Jared while getting to the bottom of the mysterious goings-on in the woods.

Kami is my favourite kind of main character – a spicy, interesting, strong-willed, go-getting female who doesn’t sit waiting around for someone to rescue her.  She’s witty and charming and I felt like I really related to her.

I love stories with a bit of fantasy inserted in, and this one has just the right amount, creeping up on you so that it fits flawlessly in the real world.

Kudos to Sarah Rees  Brennan, on her excellent novel.  I give this book a solid 4/5!

1 Comment

Filed under Young Adult Books

One response to “Unspoken

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Favorite Book Covers Of Books I’ve Read | Books for the Young at Heart

Leave a Reply

