Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

  • Image

I have to admit that this book has been on my “to read because it looks intriguing but I’m putting it off because well, I don’t know” list for quite some time.  I finally got around to reading it today and was very pleasantly surprised.  I’m not sure what I was expecting but it was certainly not what I got.  I guess having rather low expectations might have led me to enjoy this book more than I would have otherwise, but I did enjoy it.  

The story follows sixteen year-old Jacob as he journeys to discover the truth behind his grandfather’s past.  Prompted by some old photographs, he travels to a small welsh island to seek Miss Peregrine and her home of peculiar children.  

Normally I’m not a fan of stories that weave the fantastical with the every-day but I thought that Ransom Riggs did a very nice job.  I liked the play on time and the matter-of-fact handling of the “peculiars”. 

The good: 

– I liked the characters and thought that Jacob was believable and interesting

– I thought the premise of the book was unique 

– It was a good start up book.  It felt like it was setting you up for bigger and better things to come. 

The bad: 

– The characters could use a bit more development.  You do find out about Jacob and I felt like I got to know his ticks a bit, but the other characters were not as well rounded.  I never really felt a good connection with any of the characters (not even Jacob) – no real empathy or understanding of their inner motives, desires, or thoughts. 

– The photographs were interesting, but a bit disjointed and required a bit more in the text to shore them up. 

– The sequel isn’t out yet, and I hate waiting! 

Overall rating:   3/5

– Decent read. I would give it a try if you’re looking for a light read. 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Young Adult Books

One response to “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

  1. Pingback: Hollow City (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #2) | Books for the Young at Heart

Leave a Reply

